Sunday, June 7, 2009

The Yamas, Niyamas & Chakras-First Overview

Ahimsa- Non-violence. Non violence works to properly balance our third chakra because we do not force power over another by practicing. It also inhibits the creation of a certain type of karma that is typically viewed as negative karma.

The third chakra is the navel center, or power center, it works your core. The navel point is the source of our nurishment when we are in the womb of our mothers. In yoga the navel point is the center where a human draws power to be used by the other centers. Located midway between the rib cage and the navel, this is the sense of identity and is associated with the pancreas, liver, gall bladder, spleen, digestive system and nervous system.

It is associated with the fire element because fire provides warmth and comfort, but also can cause fear and terror. This chakra spans a wide emotional area.

Some signs that the Solar Plexus Chakra is out of balance are:
Difficulty concentrating
Poor ability to make decisions or judge a situation accurately
A feeling that you are more important than other people
Trouble taking action or getting things done

Color-The color associated with the third chakra is Yellow. Yellow is the symbol of the mind, intellect, high intelligence and wisdom. It is a positive magnetic vibration that acts as an equalizer for irritable conditions of the nervous system. The 3rd chakra is the organizing brain of the nervous system and as such, is an important power center that should be kept in a perfect equilibrium

Asanas for the third chakra: cobra, Bow, crocodile series, Vajroli Mudra (abdominal strenghtener.

No comments: